Posted by: Nanook | March 12, 2010

Capital Grounds

The other day my job took me to Little Rock’s beautiful capital building, where I snapped these photos:

I don’t mean to toot my own horn, but look at that photo again. Check out those trees. Those glorious trees. Dig how the outer margins blur, and marvel at the dome, majestic and in focus in a swirl of chaos. I think I really captured the tumultuous atmosphere that pervades and erodes all government. I may just have a second career as a photographer. Seriously.

No need to thank me for that shot, although it probably changed your life. I am aware that seeing what I see through my lens is like looking into the face of God and seeing him blow a kiss at you. You are welcome.

But feast your eyes, if you dare, upon this:

Don’t be afraid. Don’t shield your eyes from the beauty. That’s right. It’s the official portrait of El Presidente himself. And because I take my art so seriously, I am not even going to make a joke about how it looks like the viewer is on his knees looking up at the man. Nope. I’m way too mature for that.

Besides, around here that may just be a hangin’ offense.

Responses

  1. The thing that has always struck me about that portrait is: Notice how frickin’ BIG Bill’s right hand is! That’s gotta be the painter’s equivalent of a typo, because if not he’s an alien.

  2. “I am aware that seeing what I see through my lens is like looking into the face of God and seeing him blow a kiss at you.”

    Wrong body part and wrong type of wind, but other than that …


Leave a Reply

Categories

